Posted 21 апреля 2021,, 06:07

Published 21 апреля 2021,, 06:07

Modified 24 декабря 2022,, 22:36

Updated 24 декабря 2022,, 22:36

Six of its founders left the Super League

Six of its founders left the Super League

21 апреля 2021, 06:07
English football clubs Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Tottenham and Chelsea have announced their withdrawal from the Super League, which was founded on 19 April by 12 teams.

Thus, in the Superleague today remained "Real", "Atlético", "Barcelona", "Juventus", "Milan" and "Inter".

As it turned out, the reason for leaving the project was, among other things, the negative reaction of the fans.

"Manchester United will not participate in the Super League. We listened to the reactions of the fans, the British government and other interested parties", - said the club.

"As a result of the fact that we listened to you (the fans - Kommersant) and the football community, we left the Super League. We made a mistake and we apologize for that”, - the press service of Arsenal said.

Let us remind that the organizers of the new championship expected that before the start of the first season three more leading football clubs would join the games, and then the number of playing teams is planned to be increased to 20. They were going to be divided into two groups of ten teams. Upon joining the Super League, each of the clubs will receive up to 350 million euros.

However, UEFA did not like the project.

At the same time, the president of the Real Madrid football club Florentino Perez said that the leading clubs in England, Italy and Spain decided to create the Super League, as they see in such a tournament a chance to avoid ruin and modernize business in a pandemic.