Posted 28 апреля 2021,, 10:18

Published 28 апреля 2021,, 10:18

Modified 24 декабря 2022,, 22:36

Updated 24 декабря 2022,, 22:36

Russia will exile seven diplomats of Slovakia, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia

Russia will exile seven diplomats of Slovakia, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia

28 апреля 2021, 10:18
Three employees of the Slovak Embassy in Moscow, two employees of the Lithuanian embassy, and one each from the Latvian and Estonian embassies must leave Russia by May 5, 2021. This was announced by the Russian Foreign Ministry.

Since April 28, the Russian Foreign Ministry said a strong protest, Ambassador of the Slovak Republic Lubomir Rehak due to the expulsion of three employees of the Russian Embassy in Bratislava on the "absurd and trumped-up charges of illegal activity." The Foreign Ministry believes that the decision of Slovakia to support the Czech Republic in its anti-Russian campaign damages bilateral cooperation.

As a retaliatory measure, it was decided to expel three Slovak diplomats from Russia, declaring them “persona non grata”. The ambassador has been handed a corresponding note.

The Russian Foreign Ministry took similar measures against diplomats from Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. "Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn continue to pursue an openly hostile course towards our country, hiding behind in this case pseudo-solidarity with the indiscriminate actions of the Czech Republic towards Russia," the ministry's website says.

Recall that the mutual expulsion of diplomats began after the Czech Republic announced Russia's involvement in the explosions at an arms depot in Vrbetica in 2014. However, Czech President Milos Zeman believes that there is no evidence of this yet, and urged not to rush to conclusions. In this connection, the country's senators accused the president of treason. At the same time, the Czech Republic's solidarity towards Russia was also shown in the USA, Bulgaria, Ukraine, Poland and Romania.