Posted 23 февраля 2022,, 06:55

Published 23 февраля 2022,, 06:55

Modified 24 декабря 2022,, 22:38

Updated 24 декабря 2022,, 22:38

Canadian authorities imposed economic sanctions against Russia

Canadian authorities imposed economic sanctions against Russia

23 февраля 2022, 06:55
The Government of Canada announced the introduction of economic restrictive measures against Russia due to its recognition of the independence of the Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics.

As Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (pictured) pointed out, this is the "first stage" of restrictions.

“We are imposing sanctions against members of the Russian parliament who voted for the illegal decision to recognize the so-called republics, we are forbidding Canadians to conduct transactions with the purchase of Russian government debt, we will impose additional sanctions on two Russian state-owned banks and prohibit any financial transactions with them”, - TASS quotes the words Trudeau.

In addition, the country banned "any financial activity with the so-called independent states of Lugansk and Donetsk".

The Prime Minister of Canada specified that these measures will be relevant until the territorial integrity of Ukraine is restored. Trudeau believes that it is not too late to resolve the situation through diplomacy.

Earlier sanctions were announced by Australia , Japan and the USA. On the eve it became known that the British authorities imposed economic sanctions on five Russian banks, as well as against entrepreneurs Gennady Timchenko, Boris and Igor Rotenberg close to the Russian president. British Prime Minister Boris Johnson said that Russia is facing a "flurry of sanctions".

Recall that the document recognizing the independence of the LPR and the DPR was signed by Russian President Vladimir Putin on February 21 after a meeting of the Security Council.