Posted 19 января 2023,, 14:06

Published 19 января 2023,, 14:06

Modified 19 января 2023,, 14:17

Updated 19 января 2023,, 14:17

Iran refused to recognize the new regions as part of Russia

Iran refused to recognize the new regions as part of Russia

19 января 2023, 14:06
Despite the "excellent relations" with Moscow, Iran does not recognize the Crimea, Lugansk and Donetsk People's Republics, Kherson and Zaporozhye regions as part of Russia.

This was stated in a TV interview by Iranian Foreign Minister Hossein Amir Abdollahian.

According to the diplomat, Tehran recognizes the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

"Conflict on Ukraine is not a solution, we believe in our position as a fundamental political principle on which we rely", - Kommersant quotes the words of the head of the Iranian Foreign Ministry.

Earlier it was reported that the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, as well as the DPR and The LPR became part of Russia on September 30, 2022 following the results of referendums. Earlier in 2014, a similar referendum was held in Crimea, after which the peninsula would be annexed to Of Russia.

Western countries, as well as Russia's CSTO partners, have not recognized the results of the past referendums.

The NATO member states called the accession of new regions to the Russian Federation a violation of international law and imposed sanctions against Russia as a response.

Only North Korea, Syria, Abkhazia and South Ossetia agreed to recognize the DPR and the LPR as independent. Cuba, North Korea, Syria, Nicaragua, Venezuela and Afghanistan agreed with the entry of Crimea into the Russian Federation.