Posted 3 марта 17:53

Published 3 марта 17:53

Modified 3 марта 18:15

Updated 3 марта 18:15

Melitopol became the capital of the Zaporozhye region

3 марта 2023, 17:53
The region is divided into 16 administrative divisions.

Acting Governor of the Zaporozhye region Yevgeny Balitsky signed a decree according to which the region is divided into 16 administrative units, and the city of Melitopol is officially designated as its capital.

13 districts were formed: Akimovsky, Berdyansky, Vasilievsky, Veselovsky, Kamensk-Dneprovsky, Kuibyshevsky, Melitopol, Mikhailovsky, Pologovsky, Priazovsky, Primorsky, Tokmak, Chernihiv. The borders of all districts, as well as the cities of Berdyansk and Energodar, are determined within the framework of the administrative zoning of the Ukrainian SSR as of September 16, 1991.

The decree came into force today, March 3 - from the moment of its signing.

On September 30, 2022, President Vladimir Putin signed agreements on the accession of the Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics, as well as the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions to the Russian Federation. The decision was made after the referendums in these territories, held from September 23 to 27. Western countries do not recognize their results.