Poland prepares to open borders to Russians from September 2

Poland prepares to open borders to Russians from September 2
Poland prepares to open borders to Russians from September 2
28 August 2020, 09:59SocietyPhoto: vsetutpl.com
The Polish government has prepared a list of 46 countries, the borders with which it intends to remain closed due to the threat of the spread of coronavirus infection. Russia is not on this list.

According to the Polish Press Agency, cited by TASS, the decree will come into force on September 2. Armenia, Brazil, Gibraltar, Israel, India, Spain, Kazakhstan, Libya, Lebanon, Malta, Macedonia, Namibia, Paraguay, Romania and the United States are among the countries with which the Polish side will not resume flights so far. Russia was also in it, but it was not in the new edition.

It is noted that the ban on flights does not apply to aircraft that operate flights with the consent of the Prime Minister of Poland. Military flights will not be affected by the document either.

Let us recall that Poland has introduced a complete ban on international flights due to the coronavirus pandemic on the night of June 16-17. On July 2, the Polish airline LOT began flying again to Canada, Japan and some Asian countries.

On the Russian side, Rospotrebnadzor in July proposed resuming flights to 13 countries, including Poland. However, since August 1, the Russians have gained access "by air" only to Turkey, Tanzania, Great Britain and Abkhazia, and later to Switzerland. Today, August 28, Cyprus opened its borders to Russians.

Meanwhile, the Association of Russian Tour Operators (ATOR) is inclined to believe that the opening of the borders of all directions will be possible only from next year. To date, the Ministry of Transport of Russia is negotiating with three dozen countries, but when and in what timeframe air traffic will be restored with them is still unknown.

Found a typo in the text? Select it and press ctrl + enter