The United States has banned the entry for 43 citizens of Belarus

The United States has banned the entry for 43 citizens of Belarus

19 February , 11:55In the world
The US State Department announced the imposition of visa restrictions for 43 citizens of Belarus, including high-ranking officials, for "undermining democracy" in the republic. Now they will not be able to enter the United States.

US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken said in a statement that Washington "remains concerned about the continued brutal crackdown by the Lukashenka regime of peaceful protesters, democracy-supporting activists and journalists." Blinken recalled the searches in the human rights organization "Viasna", the Belarusian Association of Journalists, as well as members of independent trade unions. The Secretary of State mentioned the verdict to journalists Yekaterina Andreeva and Daria Chultsova, specifying that this "inspires particular concern".

Who exactly is on the list is not specified, but it is reported that they are high-ranking officials from the justice sector, heads of law enforcement agencies, officers who detained peaceful protesters, judges and prosecutors who were involved in sentencing protesters and journalists to imprisonment, and also heads of universities who threatened students in connection with their participation in the actions.

Blinken drew attention to the fact that the US had twice introduced visa restrictions for “undermining democracy in Belarus”. In total, 66 people fell under the sanctions. The Secretary of State underlines that Washington supports the global efforts aimed at an independent investigation of violations during the presidential vote in Belarus and the circumstances of human rights violations.

“We support the brave people of Belarus and their right to free and fair elections”, - said Anthony Blinken.

Protests in Belarus began after the announcement of the official results of the presidential election on August 9, 2020. Citizens dissatisfied with the official result of the vote, according to which Alexander Lukashenko won again, went to rallies.

Found a typo in the text? Select it and press ctrl + enter