Posted 1 марта 2022,, 10:53

Published 1 марта 2022,, 10:53

Modified 24 декабря 2022,, 22:38

Updated 24 декабря 2022,, 22:38

Journalists, politicians, entrepreneurs... New names on the EU sanctions list

Journalists, politicians, entrepreneurs... New names on the EU sanctions list

1 марта 2022, 10:53
The European Union has imposed personal sanctions against "media persons" and businessmen close to the Kremlin due to a special operation in Ukraine, according to the EU website.

Of the media workers, well-known media personalities turned out to be under personal sanctions - TV presenters Arkady Mamontov, Tigran Keosayan, Olga Skabeeva, editor-in-chief of the Regnum publication Modest Kolerov, NTV employee Roman Babayan and RT presenter Anton Krasovsky.

Next on the list are writer and public figure Zakhar Prilepin, cellist and friend of President Putin Sergei Roldugin.

The European Union classified Gennady Timchenko, the head of Rosneft Igor Sechin, Transneft Nikolay Tokarev, the founder of USM Holdings Alisher Usmanov, the owner of Severstal Alexey Mordashov, the chairman of the board of directors of Sheremetyevo airport Alexander Ponomarenko as disgraced entrepreneurs. From the banking sector - Chairman of the Board of Directors of Alfa-Bank Pyotr Aven, co-owner of Alfa-Bank Mikhail Fridman, head of Promsvyazbank Pyotr Fradkov.

The sanctions will also affect the military: First Deputy Commander of the Black Sea Fleet Sergey Pinchuk, Deputy Commander of the Southern Military District Aleksey Avdeev, Deputy Commander of the Southern Military District Rustam Muradov and Commander of the 8th Guards Combined Arms Army of the Southern Military District Andrei Sychev.

Of the officials on the sanctions list were Vladimir Putin's press secretary Dmitry Peskov, Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Chernyshenko, Minister of Construction and Housing and Utilities Irek Fayzullin, Minister of Transport Vitaly Savelyev and First Vice Speaker of the Federation Council Andrey Turchak. Their assets in the European Union will be frozen , entry into the Member States will be prohibited.

Recall that earlier the United States imposed personal sanctions against Vladimir Putin, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu and Chief of the General Staff Valery Gerasimov.